The Best of 2022, A Year in Review

I’m Kinglink and it’s time for a look back at 2022, which is a bit of a disappointing year for me.  No, not because of any specific release, though there were a lack of major titles, but I feel like I failed as a gamer.

2022 for me was a year that I played over 300 games, which is an insane amount, I covered both Game Pass for the PC and Humble Choice so there’s a massive amount of variety in the games I covered… and yet  I only completed about 25 of those titles, almost all of them short affairs like Pupperazzi or games I finished without realizing it, like Peppa freaking Pig… 

Normally I like to talk about the best game I played over the previous year or the game I most recommend, but with most of these games already in videos, I’ve talked about that.  There’s a bigger issue for me. I struggle to call games I haven’t finished this year the best.  Can I call a game the best of the year if I only played a quarter of it? 

Read More »

Judgment Review – A slow but solid experiment

I’ve played everything that has been released in the Yakuza/Like a Dragon series from RGG Studio and enjoyed each one of them. There were amazing games like Yakuza 0, weaker games like Yakuza 3, and different games like Yakuza: Like A Dragon (the most confusingly named one).

Judgment isn’t technically part of that franchise, but it is from RGG Studio and is counted as a “Yakuza game” by most fans. It’s the same universe, same city, and has similar interactions with the same Tojo Clan, even if only a side story character crosses over between the two games. The engine the games run on and the style of the games is very similar.

In Judgment, you control Yagami, a former lawyer who is now a private investigator. A simple early case, which involves you trying to assist in the defense of a Tojo Yakuza Captain named Hamura, pulls Yagami into a series of events at the core of the story. Judgment’s main focus is telling a complex and intricate narrative that evolves throughout the story, though since unraveling is such a central part of the game, I’ll avoid mentioning much more about it.

Read More »

Humble Choice January 2023 Review – Starting the year with a “hell” of a game.

I’m Kinglink and it’s the first week of January.  That means it’s the Humble Choice January 2023 Review.   

This month there are eight titles from Humble and there are a few oddities in the selection here, but before I get into the overall bundle, I’ve played each game for an hour on stream and I’m  ready to tell you about the titles on offer and who might enjoy each game.  Let’s get started with the game already on the screen

Read More »

Game Pass December 2022 Review – Looking at the end of the year’s offerings

I’m Kinglink and once more into the breach… this is the December 2022 Game Pass Review. 

As always, I take a look at everything that came out over the past month.  We have sixteen titles this month, and that’s a good amount.  There’s been some major releases, exciting additions, and a couple of great games.   Since this series is focused on PC, that means we won’t be talking about Norco or Metal: Hellsinger but I have reviewed previously and console fans should check out Metal: Hellsinger, it’s a great musical FPS. 

The rules are the same as always, a single night with each game, playing as much as I want and seeing how they are.  The truth is this month I think the average time played was between two and three hours. I just wasn’t feeling as many of the games as in the past, but there still are some that I’m itching to get back to. 

With that said, let’s start talking about the entries. 

Read More »

Humble Choice December 2022 Review – Ending year with solid stories

I’m Kinglink and it’s December, which means it’s time for the final Humble Choice … of 2022. This is the Humble Choice December 2022 Review.

As always we have 8 titles, this month having two major ones to start that I’m thrilled to talk about, and there’s a lot of strong storytelling here, so stay tuned for that. I’ve played each game for an hour on Twitch and now can tell you what I’ve found. 

Let’s just get to it. 

Read More »

Game Pass November 2022 Review – 17 Hits and Misses

I’m Kinglink and it’s almost turkey day here in America, so it’s time for the Game Pass November 2022 Review.  

This one is a bit late but, as you’ll see in the lists of games, I wanted to cover Pentiment and that came out on the 15th.  The good news is I have that and many others, so we talk about all of these titles, and even give a hint of what’s coming up, but that’s for later. 

Normally I play only the PC games, but give me a moment here, and let me call out Vampire Survivors, I’ve covered it previously on the series, and I remember I said you should buy it even if it’s on Game Pass.  It’s 5 dollars on Xbox and I still believe that it’s worth it.  It’s a lot of fun, so console gamers, you have the chance, check that game out, I will guarantee you’ll enjoy it, and good luck hunting me down if you don’t. 

This month I haven’t played all of these games as much.  While I do sit down with these titles for a night, quite a few of them are games I’ve played previously, or stopped for various reasons, we’ll get into the why when applicable, but I have had some great experiences, let’s start with what’s on the screen, perhaps the biggest release of the month. 

Read More »

Humble Choice November 2022 Review – Will we be giving thanks?

I’m Kinglink and it’s almost turkey time in America so that means it’s time for the Humble Choice November 2022 Review.  

Like always we have 8 games from Humble and, after the last two strong months, we have to ask if this is going to be another one that will be impressive or will they stumble.  I’ve played each game on stream for mostly an hour, a few internet issues did pop up but I got my playtime in.  What’s great is I’m acquainted with a couple of these games previously as well, so let’s see how they are. 

We’ll start with what’s on the screen…

Read More »

Game Pass October 2022 Review – Impressive games and an important update

I’m Kinglink and it’s the middle of October so it’s time for the Game Pass October 2022 review.

I’m back once again with 16 titles new to Game Pass with a focus on PC.  I’ve spent a night, about three to four hours on almost every game and now am ready to talk about it, what’s good, what’s bad, and who will like each title. 

I am putting this video out before Plague Tale Requiem, and I really want to cover that game, but then this video would come out later than I wanted.  Don’t worry I’ll get it next month, and I have a good feeling that it’ll be another high-quality title. 

I do have some news for the channel and this series, but I’m going to save that for the end so we can focus on what’s important here.  

We’re going to start with a familiar title for this channel.   It’s a game I already have talked about this month, so let’s roll back time and go over it once more. 

Read More »

Humble Choice October 2022 Review – The Best Bundle of the year?

I’m Kinglink and it’s the beginning of October, so it’s time for the Humble Choice October 2022 Review. 

As always there are 8 games to play, and I’ve played each game for an hour on stream, and now I can tell you who will like each title and which games are worth checking out.  This being the month of Halloween perhaps we’ll have a little horror, very little. 

This month was an instant purchase for me.  I’ll talk more about why at the end but the headliner is pretty major, speaking of which let’s just get into the games, with the one already on screen being where we start.  Take it away. 

Read More »

Game Pass September 2022 Review – 27 new games to check out

I’m Kinglink and it’s the middle of September, which means it’s time for another look at Game Pass and what’s come out over the last month. 

This is the video where I review each new game on Game Pass. I’ve played each title for a night, a few for a couple, and even bought a couple to support the devs. Now I can tell you what I like, and what games you should check out. 

But there are a lot of games listed here, normally we get a list every two weeks. This month Microsoft blessed us, or in my case cursed me. Quakecon 2022 happened and more legacy Bethesda games came out, and then I was wrapping up this review and the Tokyo Game Show happened, and sure enough, another 4 games were added to this list on Friday…. Way to ruin my weekend Microsoft. There is another surprise release, with the name of Death Stranding.

That being said, every game listed will be covered, except for Quake Champions as that’s just a perk for a sort of free-to-play game, and Despot’s Game which has been delayed to the end of this month, I’ll almost certainly talk about that next time. 

After last month’s weak lineup we’ve been given a ton of new games across a lot of genres, there’s probably something for everyone here, so let’s get into the list.

Starting with

Read More »