Xbox Game Pass October 2021 Review – Part 1

I’m Kinglink and it’s the middle of October, so let’s talk about the Xbox Game Pass October 2021 Review… Part One.  Wait what’s that about? 

On screens is the list of games, and like always I play all of them, every game that comes out on Xbox Game Pass. It’s been about a month since my last video, and how has Xbox done?  Well, they’ve released 25  titles that I have to cover.  That’s a lot, considering if I played one game each day, that’s almost the entire month, and that’s sort of what I did. 

So I still want to cover them, but 25 titles, a minute a title is gonna be a huge video… so I’m doing the next best thing.  I’m going to bring you 13 titles today, and the rest next week.  I’ll still choose the best out of all 25, but we’re just going to break up the delivery… so let’s see which 13 titles made it onto the first half.   Starting with. 

Read More »

Psychonauts 2 Review – Recreating greatness.

Psychonauts 2 has been a game fans have been clambering for over fifteen years.  Psychonauts was the first title from a newly created Double Fine Studio and yet remained a fan favorite long after other titles had been released and forgotten. 

Psychonauts 2 had a lot to live up to, the original title was a unique experience in which players delved into the brains of the characters in the story and explored their secret desires, their hidden passions, and their traumas.   Psychonauts 2 would be expected to do the same. 

So Psychonauts 2 starts with an amazing dive into the psyche of an insane dentist.  Starting with an office building but then delving into a mashup between a dentistry practice and an office setting.  This gives the player a unique level to explore. 

Read More »

The Artful Escape Review – A cosmic trip into the creative process

The Artful Escape comes from Beethoven & Dinosaur, a brand-new studio led by Johnny Galvatron, a former musician. That musical background is useful as the Artful Escape has a huge focus on its main protagonist and his music.

The opening of The Artful Escape focuses on the main character, Francis Vendetti, preparing for a tribute show for his uncle, Johnny Vendetti, while standing on an overlook. While he tries to play folk songs, he seems unable to perform but releases an amazing space opera guitar solo. Clearly, there’s something yearning to be free.

This is hardly the first time a game has tackled the creative process. Games have talked about the creation of music, writing, movies, and even video games. But rather than wax on the topic insufferably, The Artful Escape instead uses the topic as a springboard for a larger story.

Read More »

Xbox Game Pass September 2021 Review – What a roller coaster

It’s the middle of September, so it’s time to look at the last month of Xbox Game Pass titles with the September 2021 review. 

On-screen are images that Microsoft has released of their top games which we’ll be covering, but that’s not good enough for me.  I’ve played everything released on the service for PC over the last month, and it’s time to talk about the good and the bad.  

I’ve spent at least two to four hours with most of these games, so I should be able to give you a good overview of what is worth checking out and why.  I hope you’re ready because we’re going to cover 19 games this month, and yeah, that’s a lot.   Let’s get started with…

Read More »

Humble Choice September 2021 Review – What was that?

I’m Kinglink and it’s September 2021, which means it’s time for the Humble Choice September 2021 Review. 

We have 13 games and, as always, I played each game for an hour and now am here to tell you all about them.  Let’s just get started.

PGA Tour 2K21. I think a lot of people are expecting me to tear into this game.  But that’s not what I do,  PGA Tour 2K21 is a golf game and that could be my review. It perfectly bookends every point I would make about this game. 

Read More »

Dodgeball Academia Review – Retro AND Modern

There has been a recent resurgence in all forms of media where creators want to repackage 90s nostalgia to sell to customers while doing minimal work. Whether it’s a classic television show. a popular movie, or just the aesthetics, this is a common approach to creating new content while not giving the audience anything new or different than the original content.

Dodgeball Academia could be in that category. It’s clear the game is heavily inspired by a classic NES title, Super Dodgeball and it would be easy for someone to create a clone of that classic game and sell it for twenty or thirty dollars.

That’s not what Dodgeball Academia is about. While Pocket Trap, the developers of Dodgeball Academia are fans of Super Dodgeball, Dodgeball Academia is more of a love letter or an homage to a classic title showing what can happen when nostalgia is only the first step of a project. 

Read More »

12 Minutes Review – Quite a bit longer than that.

12 Minutes is the latest game published by Annapurna Interactive. It’s a strange narrative adventure involving the player repeating the same time frame in a Groundhog Day-style loop.

Players start by coming home late from work when their wife has cooked dessert for them. After a nice average evening at home, a cop knocks at the door, and when you or your wife open it, the cop will quickly arrest you and your wife, and ends up striking or choking the player to death. And the game restarts.

This is an abrupt and disturbing scene, but it’s exactly what’s in store for the player in 10 minutes increments, each time loop usually ends with a horrific end, and the player is left to wonder how they can fix their predicament.

Read More »

Xbox Game Pass August 2021 Reviews – We begin with a strong month

I’m Kinglink and it’s time for the Xbox Game Pass August 2021 Review. 

This is something new on my channel, if you’re already familiar with my work, you know I review the Humble Choice the first week of every month and talk about who might enjoy which games and if it’s worth picking up.

Xbox Game Pass is a bit different, it’s a subscription service where players can play any game on it and games get released throughout the month.  I’ll do my best to cover the major releases as well as a variety of other games.  My channel is focused on the PC platform, so that’s the platform of choice here.  

For these videos, I’ll be doing short reviews for each title, and I’ll talk about the most notable and unique games that I have found.  These aren’t intended to be full reviews, however, unlike the Humble Choice and its time constraint, I’ll continue playing beyond the first hour for these titles when possible. 

Read More »

Omno Review – A serene journey of discovery

Omno is a lovely game. Rather than teach the player from the first moment, it promotes a sense of exploration. The main character is a silent onion-headed avatar, in a new land, filled with creatures and puzzles just waiting to be discovered.

Omno evokes comparisons with Journey due to the style, and gameplay. It’s a serene journey that avoids combat, while still giving the player a fantastic sense of wonder as they explore each new area and land. It combines music, graphics, and gameplay to evoke the sense of the unknown throughout.

Omno’s focus is on minimalism, using only a few words to teach the player the basic mechanics of the game, whether it be a button press required or a new ability. Throughout the game, players will earn four different abilities, such as a fast dash allowing players to cover distances in moments.

Read More »