November 2021 Game Pass Review – Forza and 17 more interesting titles

I’m Kinglink and it’s sort of the middle of November, so it’s the Xbox Game Pass November 2021 Review. 

Xbox has released eighteen games for PC over this span which is quite a lot, luckily it’s not so much that I had to split this video up, but I’m still having a great time with this selection and there have been some massive games this month as well.  I’m sure some of you have heard of them.  

But the thing is it’s the week before Thanksgiving and you know I always made these videos about the entire offering to see what I’m thankful for.  It’s really easy to just say “Forza, Age of Empires” and call it a day.  It certainly would make this process shorter, but the fact is I enjoy looking at the entire library, especially the indies.  So let’s look at everything that came out for the PC on Xbox Game Pass for the past 30 days or so.  Starting with…

Read More »

Humble Choice November 2021 Review – Well that’s different…

I’m Kinglink and it’s November 2021, so of course it’s time for the Humble Choice November 2021 Review. 

So this month is a little odd… Normally there are 12 games to titles to choose from, but this month, for some reason, Humble has released the newest choice with only 10, though you get all ten.  It’s something I’ve been asking for.  I was hoping that instead of throwing in random cheap titles to get their numbers up, fewer titles could be higher quality.  Did it work out that way? Let’s see. 

I know some people will immediately dismiss this bundle and I get it.  I thought this was a joke at first, and still question it, but give me under twenty minutes and I’ll see if I can find some value in here for you. 

Read More »

Xbox Game Pass October 2021 Review Part 2 – All the major titles

I’m back, Kinglink here, and I’m doing Part 2 of the Xbox Game Pass October 2021 Review. 

Part 1 is already on my channel, but don’t worry you don’t have to watch these videos in order.  What happened was Xbox released 25 titles over the last month, and I’m showing both announcements on screen.  We’ve covered the entire first image, but we’re going to have to power through the second because there are even more games not listed there.  I’ve already reviewed 13 titles, so let’s look at the last 12 and talk about the best of the month.  We have some of the heaviest hitters this month here as well.    Let’s start with… 

Read More »

Xbox Game Pass October 2021 Review – Part 1

I’m Kinglink and it’s the middle of October, so let’s talk about the Xbox Game Pass October 2021 Review… Part One.  Wait what’s that about? 

On screens is the list of games, and like always I play all of them, every game that comes out on Xbox Game Pass. It’s been about a month since my last video, and how has Xbox done?  Well, they’ve released 25  titles that I have to cover.  That’s a lot, considering if I played one game each day, that’s almost the entire month, and that’s sort of what I did. 

So I still want to cover them, but 25 titles, a minute a title is gonna be a huge video… so I’m doing the next best thing.  I’m going to bring you 13 titles today, and the rest next week.  I’ll still choose the best out of all 25, but we’re just going to break up the delivery… so let’s see which 13 titles made it onto the first half.   Starting with. 

Read More »

Psychonauts 2 Review – Recreating greatness.

Psychonauts 2 has been a game fans have been clambering for over fifteen years.  Psychonauts was the first title from a newly created Double Fine Studio and yet remained a fan favorite long after other titles had been released and forgotten. 

Psychonauts 2 had a lot to live up to, the original title was a unique experience in which players delved into the brains of the characters in the story and explored their secret desires, their hidden passions, and their traumas.   Psychonauts 2 would be expected to do the same. 

So Psychonauts 2 starts with an amazing dive into the psyche of an insane dentist.  Starting with an office building but then delving into a mashup between a dentistry practice and an office setting.  This gives the player a unique level to explore. 

Read More »

The Artful Escape Review – A cosmic trip into the creative process

The Artful Escape comes from Beethoven & Dinosaur, a brand-new studio led by Johnny Galvatron, a former musician. That musical background is useful as the Artful Escape has a huge focus on its main protagonist and his music.

The opening of The Artful Escape focuses on the main character, Francis Vendetti, preparing for a tribute show for his uncle, Johnny Vendetti, while standing on an overlook. While he tries to play folk songs, he seems unable to perform but releases an amazing space opera guitar solo. Clearly, there’s something yearning to be free.

This is hardly the first time a game has tackled the creative process. Games have talked about the creation of music, writing, movies, and even video games. But rather than wax on the topic insufferably, The Artful Escape instead uses the topic as a springboard for a larger story.

Read More »

Xbox Game Pass September 2021 Review – What a roller coaster

It’s the middle of September, so it’s time to look at the last month of Xbox Game Pass titles with the September 2021 review. 

On-screen are images that Microsoft has released of their top games which we’ll be covering, but that’s not good enough for me.  I’ve played everything released on the service for PC over the last month, and it’s time to talk about the good and the bad.  

I’ve spent at least two to four hours with most of these games, so I should be able to give you a good overview of what is worth checking out and why.  I hope you’re ready because we’re going to cover 19 games this month, and yeah, that’s a lot.   Let’s get started with…

Read More »

Humble Choice September 2021 Review – What was that?

I’m Kinglink and it’s September 2021, which means it’s time for the Humble Choice September 2021 Review. 

We have 13 games and, as always, I played each game for an hour and now am here to tell you all about them.  Let’s just get started.

PGA Tour 2K21. I think a lot of people are expecting me to tear into this game.  But that’s not what I do,  PGA Tour 2K21 is a golf game and that could be my review. It perfectly bookends every point I would make about this game. 

Read More »

Dodgeball Academia Review – Retro AND Modern

There has been a recent resurgence in all forms of media where creators want to repackage 90s nostalgia to sell to customers while doing minimal work. Whether it’s a classic television show. a popular movie, or just the aesthetics, this is a common approach to creating new content while not giving the audience anything new or different than the original content.

Dodgeball Academia could be in that category. It’s clear the game is heavily inspired by a classic NES title, Super Dodgeball and it would be easy for someone to create a clone of that classic game and sell it for twenty or thirty dollars.

That’s not what Dodgeball Academia is about. While Pocket Trap, the developers of Dodgeball Academia are fans of Super Dodgeball, Dodgeball Academia is more of a love letter or an homage to a classic title showing what can happen when nostalgia is only the first step of a project. 

Read More »